Graduate Studies

Puerto Rico Center for Environmental Neuroscience (PRCEN) Graduate Research Fellowships

We are now accepting applications for the 2017-2018 academic year for studies in environmental neuroscience. Applications are open until all available spots are filled and should be send to:

maria.benitez9@upr.edu

 

The admission Committee will start examining applications in Dec 2017 for the earliest starting date:

Jan 1, 2018

Only applications that are completed will be considered.

The proposed project must be performed with one of the participating PIs in the grant (click HERE) for a complete list, who will certify in a separate letter that he/she is committed to this project and to this student

 

Major evaluation criteria will be:

- Robustness of the proposal

- Neuro-environmental component

- Fit to the proposed aims of the CREST grant (click HERE)

 

Admission Committee:

- Marc Miller (mark.miller@upr.edu)

- Martine Behra (martine.behra@upr.edu)

- Tugrul Giray (tugrul.giray@upr.edu)

- Maria Sosa (maria.sosa@upr.edu)

- Bruno Marie (Bruno.marie@upr.edu)

- Beatriz Zayas (zayasbea@gmail.com)

 

Application instructions:

  1. Project SPA (one page)
  2. Official transcript of grades (minimal GPA of 3)
  3. Two letters of recommendation (one should be by the PI of the proposal, who will briefly describe his/her commitment to the proposed project)
  4. Biosketch (modeled on NSF-Standard)
  5. Careers objectives statement (one page)

 

Upon admission the Graduate research fellow and his mentor will sign the agreement form (Click HERE) which is for one year with renewal pending on annual evaluation by the Educational Committee.

 

Educational Committee:

- Martine Behra (martine.behra@upr.edu)

- Alberto Sabat (amsabat@gmail.com)

- Bruno Marie (Bruno.marie@upr.edu)

- Beatriz Zayas (zayasbea@gmail.com)

- Maria De Jesus (maria.dejesus2@upr.edu)

- Andrew Seeds (andrew.seeds@upr.edu)

- Omar Perez (macrobrachium@gmail.com)

Evaluation will be based on (1) the annual report submitted by the student (click HERE for standardized form), (2) the PI annual written evaluation of student’s performance and (3) participation in all mandatory courses offered thought the program as stipulated in the agreement form.

 

 

 

Funding provided by NSF CREST (Centers of Research Excellence in Science and Technology)